FAQ: What does bcc mean in gmail?

When should you use BCC in an email?

For security and privacy reasons, it is best to use the Blind Carbon Copy (BCC) feature when sending an email message to a large number of people. When you place email addresses in the BCC field of a message, those addresses are invisible to the recipients of the email.

Can BCC recipients see each other in Gmail?

Nope! BCC stands for Blind Carbon Copy. Recipients will see who sent the email and that they’ve been BCC‘d but will not see who else, including any CC’d recipients received the same email. When you place email addresses in the BCC: field of a message, those addresses are invisibleto the recipients of the email.

What is the use of BCC in Gmail?

What “Bcc” means in Gmail and how to use it. Bcc, or “blind carbon copy,” lets you add multiple recipients to an email — in other words, lets you send an email to multiple people at once. However, when they receive the email, none of these Bcc recipients will know who else received the email via Bcc.

You might be interested:  Often asked: What does mutual mean?

Is BCC really hidden?

BCC stands for “blind carbon copy.” Unlike with CC, no one but the sender can see the list of BCC recipients. However, the BCC list is secret—no one can see this list except the sender. If a person is on the BCC list, they’ll see only their own email on the BCC list.

What happens if someone replies to a BCC email?

Both the recipient and any emails BCC‘d see your original email, as you already know. But if either party responds, it only goes to the original sender. Who can then email with you back and forth only between you two. Using BCC is similar to a group text where you uncheck “group chat” before you send.

How can you tell if someone was BCC on an email?

BCC simply sends the email to someone without their name being on the email at all. That’s what “blind” is all about: you can’t see that they’ve been sent the email. In fact, recipients of the email can’t tell whether anyone was BCC‘ed or not. The information simply isn’t included in the email message.

Can CC recipients see each other?

When referring to email, “cc” means carbon copy and “bbc” means “blind carbon copy”. Every recipient email address you enter into the “to” and “cc” fields will be able to see each other. The email addresses you add to the “bcc” field will not be visible to the “to” and “ccrecipients or the otherbccrecipients.

You might be interested:  Question: What is a state of the union address?

How do I send an email to a group without showing the recipients in Gmail?

How to Send an Email to Undisclosed Recipients From Gmail

  1. In Gmail, click ‘Compose’ to create a new email.
  2. In the ‘To’ field enter ‘Undisclosed recipients‘ and add your address after it (for instance, [email protected]gmail.com).
  3. Next, click on ‘Bcc” (upper right), and enter your addresses into the Bcc field.

Can you BCC everyone?

Bcc stands for “blind carbon copy,” and is a way of sending emails to multiple people without them knowing who else is getting the email. Any email addresses in the Bcc field will be invisible to everyone else on the email. As a rule of thumb, if the number of recipients exceeds 30, then you should Bcc.

Can you send an email with only BCC?

You can put any addresses you like in the “To” or “Cc” fields along with any you put in the “Bcc” field. Just remember that only the addresses in the “Bcc” field are hidden from recipients. You can also leave the “To” or “Cc” fields blank and just sent the message to the addresses in the “Bcc” field.

Is BCC secure?

The idea of the BCC field is indeed to keep recipients undisclosed from each other. We show that many widely deployed email encryption systems reveal the identities of Blind- Carbon-Copy (BCC) recipients. For example, encrypted email sent using Microsoft Outlook completely exposes the identity of every BCC recipient.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: What is laminar flow?

Can BCC recipients see replies?

Comments: One Response to “Replying To an Email That May Have a Bcc In It, Who Sees My Reply?” The short answer: No. When you get an email that has been BCCed to others, the email does not contain the information about those BCCed people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *